Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Daily Lobo The Independent Voice of UNM since 1895
Latest Issue
Read our print edition on Issuu

Seven faculty members promoted to distinguished professors

The University recently announced the promotion of seven instructors to the status of distinguished professors, the “highest faculty title” that UNM bestows upon its employees, according to a University press release. They are Bill Gilbert, Hua Guo, Zachary Sharp, Arthur Bankhurst, Robert Sapien, Daniel Savage and Cheryl Willman.

According to the press release, the title of distinguished professor is awarded “to only a few of the most prominent faculty. Individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievements, and are nationally and internationally renowned as scholars may be considered for this faculty rank.”

The seven professors represent a variety of fields, including the Depts. of Art and Art History, Neurosciences and Earth and Planetary Sciences, as well as the Cancer Treatment Center.

See the seven new distinguished professors here.

To read each professor's bio, click here.


David Lynch is the news editor at The Daily Lobo. He can be reached at or on Twitter @RealDavidLynch.

Enjoy what you're reading?
Get content from The Daily Lobo delivered to your inbox


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2024 The Daily Lobo